Turn About

Years ago I worked at the Meeteetse Visitor Center and there were two women on the board of directors who were wretched bitches with me.  I ended up quitting when they tried to make me sign a contract dictating how I lived my life, how I dressed, who I could socialize with, and on and on and on.  They were on a power trip to say the least.

One of the women came into the cafe for dinner on Monday night and just the sight of her made me want to set her hair on fire.  The downside to working in a very small place is most of the time I’m alone, both the cook and the server, and I can’t shove undesirable people off on another server. 

I was my most professional and acted as if they were strangers while I served them and cooked their food.  I’ll bet that bitch was sweating, though.  If I treated someone like she treated me, then I discovered they were cooking my food, I’d find somewhere else to eat.  Good thing I think food tampering is morally reprehensible.

I loved the position she was in.  She couldn’t get up and leave without explaining why she couldn’t chance me cooking her food and she had to rely on my professionalism, the one thing she accused me of not having at the Visitor Center.  It made me smile all night.

12 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Squiggy's mom
    Apr 19, 2012 @ 15:54:26

    Oh woman, you crack me up – I love stories like this!

    Why, thank you.

    Reply

  2. DarcKnyt
    Apr 19, 2012 @ 17:22:58

    Serving revenge cold, are we? 🙂

    Oh no, it was nice and hot and pretty tasty too. I am a good cook. 🙂

    Reply

  3. Sparty Girl
    Apr 19, 2012 @ 17:41:13

    People like that always get what’s coming to them sooner or later.

    But do they know it?

    Reply

  4. skippymom
    Apr 19, 2012 @ 19:44:02

    I would be amazed if she was actually thinking that. People like her never think there is any retribution for their actions and it the big picture so many people don’t realized that food service folk CAN [but never, ever in my experience] f*ck with their food.

    I agree with you and I was going to add that she probably feels justified in how she treated me, but I didn’t have time to write it all out.

    It took me a few times reading about that contract to fully absorb it. If I didn’t know you better I would swear that the years had made that story “grow” [into an exaggeration]. It was a Visitor’s Center for godsakes, it wasn’t like it was a church or you were around young children, etc. But even then, their stipulations are like nothing I have ever heard anyone try to dictate through a signed contract. Especially for a Visitor’s Center [?]. I am still shaking my head that they were that ridiculous. Good for you for standing your ground.

    The problem was, everyone in town thought they were my boss and every complaint, no matter how petty or ridiculous was a major issue. Three hundred and fifty bosses with one brain to share. The two women had their agendas, one wanted my job, the other (the one who ate at the cafe) thought she could do community projects better than I could. Turns out she was wrong.

    $10 bet they were self proclaimed “good” Christians.

    Damn, you should become a psychic. 😉

    Reply

  5. thelifeofjamie
    Apr 19, 2012 @ 21:21:58

    Did you spit in her food?

    No. In all my years of food service, serving or cooking for people I wouldn’t pee on if they were on fire, I’ve never tampered with anyone’s food. I would rather punch someone in the throat than mess with their food.

    Reply

  6. DarcsFalcon
    Apr 20, 2012 @ 00:35:23

    Sign a contract? Who you could socialize with? Good grief! Yeah I’d say that’s a power trip! LOL

    It was a learning experience.

    The timing on this couldn’t be better – I came across this article earlier today: South Carolina McDonald’s employee arrested for allegedly spitting in tea | Fox News.

    I saw that! People who tamper with food should be arrested.

    Nasty stuff out there! You should give her a copy of that article. 😉

    I’d rather set her hair on fire.

    Reply

  7. wigsf
    Apr 20, 2012 @ 05:21:59

    You still put sugar in her gas tank, right?

    I’ll never tell.

    Reply

  8. Zoogie2
    Apr 20, 2012 @ 09:06:40

    It always amazes me what some employers (read: bitches who happen to receive a paycheck) try to dictate. Some people just love the power trip – like Dr. Evil. You could tell he was really strict about his minions’ dress code!

    Yes, but his son hated him.

    What I find most shocking is that they actually had more than one conversation with you and thought they could specify what you wear or who you socialize with. Seems like a dangerous thing. Not “dangerous” like I’m-going-to-sue-you; dangerous like I-could-kill-you-with-a-look. I just assume you have that power.

    I do have that power 🙂 My satisfaction was that the whole organization imploded right after I left. They had to restructure and all I heard from community members after I left was how no one organized things or worked as hard as I did. My response was always, “Well, I guess you should have spent more time getting involved and less time bitching about petty shit.” I was very rude.

    Reply

  9. Ahmnodt Heare
    Apr 20, 2012 @ 14:00:27

    Sometimes professionalism is the best form of revenge.

    Reply

  10. Hira Animfefte
    Jun 12, 2012 @ 16:13:55

    You don’t spit in their food. They don’t KNOW whether you spit in their food or not. They sweat. You win! 🙂

    I’m sure she thought her actions were justified so she wasn’t the least worried.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

