Hell Week

Hell Week is almost over and only one co-worker barricaded herself in the walk-in so I couldn’t find her.

Can we say, “Overly dramatic”?

Sharron left for vacation last Tuesday and this Tuesday can’t come soon enough.  Sharron is our safety net.  She bails us out when we are huddled in the corner crying, cleans up our messes when we have lost control of the kitchen and dining room, restocks when we run out of food, and makes everyone play nice.  She used to be the director of a huge daycare, and it seems running a daycare and running a restaurant aren’t much different.

All was swell until Friday night when I got to work and the kitchen looked as if someone had set it on fire and put it out with dirt.  Ding Dong was floating around the kitchen repeating over and over about how busy she had been all day and how stressed out she was.   I looked at her tickets and she had 9 in total.  That means from 11 am to 5 pm (6 hours) she cooked 9 orders.  Not one of the tickets were for a table any larger than a 4 top.

I told her I would help her get things cleaned up so she could go home.  She asked if she could take a minute to sit down.  Then she prattled on about how stressed out she was and she didn’t get any prep done for the day because she was just “so busy”.  I asked what she meant by “no prep” and she said she was out of everything.

I silently gritted my teeth and started cleaning.  The grill looked as if someone had taken a shit on it.  Likewise, the counters.  I hauled out all her trash.  I swept the filthy floor.  I did all her dishes.

At some point during my cleaning, she realized that I wasn’t gushing over her and praising her for a job well done.  This isn’t an 18 year old kid.  Ding Dong is 37.  Nine orders in 6 hours with the kitchen looking like shit and no prep isn’t a job well done.  It’s a half assed attempt.  Since I wasn’t patting her on the back, Ding Dong went to the bar and told everyone about her very stressful day.  For an hour.  While I cleaned up her fucking mess. 

I started getting my own orders at 6 and everything I touched was either empty, dirty or in the wrong place.  Ding Dong came back into the kitchen sometime after 6, and as she was walking out the door she said, “Oh, you are out of everything for pizzas.”

Whenever you have a miserable day or weekend, google "WTF?" and see if you don't pee your pants laughing.

I opened the pizza cooler and sure as shit, every container was empty and dirty.  There wasn’t enough cheese to make 2 pizzas and there wasn’t any in the back up container.  At some point during the dinner rush I was going to have to grate cheese in the Hobart. 

Awesome!

Time to pull up my big girl panties and see what I’m made of, right?

I had 18 tickets in 3 hours.  Twice as much in half the time while scrambling to do prep.  Then I had to stay 2 hours after close to restock and clean everything so Ding Dong would be prepared for Saturday lunch.  Call me crazy, but I don’t leave a mess for someone else to work in.

Saturday I called at around 1 to see how she was doing.  “I’m going to cry.  I’m so busy and stressed out,” she told me.  Not wanting another night like the previous one, I told her I would come in and help.

When I got there she freaked the fuck out, tried to throw me out of the kitchen (which was a total disaster, again), went to the walk-in and barricaded herself inside with the bread rack (this is how ding dong she is…the door opens out).  She called Big Jim to come save her from me.

Before he could get there I found her sitting in the bar and I asked to talk to her.  She said I got in her face and yelled at her and she was thisclose to quitting.  Then she started crying.  

Oh honey.  I talked to you.  I never yelled at you, nor was I “in your face”.  “In your face” is something you really don’t want to see.

I'm not saying she's a big assed baby, but...

In the end, I apologized for being mean.  I told her I was wrong.  I owned up to being a bitch.  Then I gave her a hug and coddled her and patted her on the head and gave her a lollipop all because there isn’t anyone else to work.  A warm body is better than no body. 

I went back home and really felt bad about upsetting her.  Some people are delicate and, well, I do tend to trample everything in my path.  This is her first time in food service and she’s not capable of the organization it takes to wait tables OR cook let alone both.  To put this in perspective, in Cody a person gets 5 days of training, and if they can’t handle it they are cut loose.  Sharron has been training Ding Dong for 5 MONTHS.  Sharron is very patient and kind.  I would have gouged my eyes out by now.  In Meeteetse, you take what’s available and hope for the best. 

Anyway, I went back to work 30 minutes early so I could get something to eat (since I didn’t get any dinner Friday night, I figured I better eat before my shift) and I gently explained to Ding Dong that I wasn’t encroaching on her space (and I didn’t scream and pass out when I saw the mess in the kitchen).  I apologized again for hurting her feelings and I’ll be damned if she didn’t say, “I know the kitchen is a mess.  Nothing is stocked and you don’t have any hamburger pattied, but can I sit down for a minute and then I’ll come back and help you?” 

She went to the bar and I never saw her again.

I’m taking that as a big “Fuck you, see if I care” two nights in a row.  Sharron will be back on Tuesday and she will spend her free time cleaning up Ding Dong’s messes so I don’t scream in terror at the kitchen nightmare.  I will keep my mouth shut because she’s not my problem.  I’m just a worker bee.

7 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Squiggy's mom
    Apr 23, 2012 @ 00:35:17

    It’s a shame you have to suffer such fools.

    There are two fools and three hard workers at the Outlaw. I wish we could find one more hard worker and get rid of the two fools.

    Reply

  2. wigsf
    Apr 23, 2012 @ 06:21:41

    Okay, so I googled WTF and took a look at the images that appeared. Some were things I didn’t get. One was a giant elephant penis. I didn’t need to see that. Then there was some chick humping a bear costume or something. I don’t think WTF is the appropriate term for that sort of thing. “Fetch me my gun, I’m going idiot hunting” would be a more appropriate keyword for such an image.

    A chicken trying to hatch a dog, a guy doing the splits, and a sea lion with some kids were the three pictures that sent me over the edge. I skipped over the perverted stuff.

    Reply

  3. DarcKnyt
    Apr 23, 2012 @ 09:39:31

    Wow. I wonder if this is how my boss sees me? I’m so afraid.

    Does your desk look as if someone has taken a crap on it? When met with a failure, do you giggle and leave it for someone else to fix? Do you seek praise for a half assed job? Do you need constant attention and supervision? I’m guessing the answer to all of these questions is no.

    Reply

  4. Sparty Girl
    Apr 23, 2012 @ 09:48:15

    Wow. Just wow. You must have an awful lot of respect for your bosses if you’re willing to put up with this crap.

    I really like my bosses, they are some of the best people I know. Any time I’ve needed a job, they have given me one and helped me all they can. The problem is, in Meeteetse you take what you can get and are happy for it. I’ve worked in Cody where having a job is very competitive. There is always someone willing to take your place and do a better job. It is very difficult for me to work with half assed people. But this was just one week. Sharron will pick up the slack when she gets back and this won’t be a problem. Ding Dong will get the praise and care she needs and I won’t have a mess when I get to work.

    Reply

  5. skippymom
    Apr 23, 2012 @ 11:44:45

    At 37 it seems no one has ever told her to grow the eff up. She is obviously used to being coddled and helped. Makes me want to throw up. Wait until life REALLY hands her something. What is she going to then? Wait. I know. Go sit down, but only “for a minute”. At the bar.

    That’s it in a nutshell and everyone knows it. I remember MDR bitching about her before I started working there. He said, “She’d rather jaw than get the job done.” I thought he meant visit with customers. He meant she’d rather tell everyone about how stressed she is and get sympathy than digging in and getting shit accomplished.

    I am so sorry you have to put up with this. I completely understand why you do, but I know I would be hard pressed not to keep her in the kitchen and make her do the same for me as I would’ve done for her [the prep/clean]. And if she wouldn’t stay? I would be damned if I touched one thing before I got off. I would figure that I had to clean and restock when I got in, why should I do it twice? But in your situation? I would do exactly what you did. You need the body. And she knows it. She also knows [and I know you know she does] that she screwed you royally. She expected you to yell at her [who wouldn’t?] but when she didn’t get that reaction she went ahead and played drama queen anyway. To try and make you look like the bad guy.

    I explained how horribly she left me and how I had to stay 2 extra hours to get everything cleaned and stocked. She replied, “You didn’t stock for me! I only had a half a head of lettuce.” Fuck me running. Can’t argue with you there. I left you high and dry.

    I couldn’t make her stay. She made it very clear that I am not her boss, I can’t ask her to do anything or she will quit, and she doesn’t want to be in the kitchen with me at all. Apparently, she thinks I’m some sort of monster and Glory hasn’t come out to play, yet. When Jim told me she barricaded herself in the walk-in and called him, I asked, “WTF?!” He said, “She has emotional problems.” No shit.

    Do me a favor. if you can manage it trip her when she goes for her “minute”. If she turns on you or questions you just reply “Skippy says HI!” I promise to take all the blame. giggle

    I’ll pass this on to Sharron, because Ding Dong is her problem now.

    Take care and good luck.

    I’m going to try and rearrange my schedule so I don’t see her. She needs a job and I don’t want to cause her to lose it, but I can’t deal with the “Holly’s a horrible person” attitude. I’ve spent the majority of my time kissing this chick’s ass and being nice to her, yet she’s still making me out to be the bad guy.

    Reply

  6. zoogie2
    Apr 23, 2012 @ 14:35:10

    I can’t believe that this idiot still has a job at all! I’m a total bitch (and have never worked in the food service industry), but if it were me I would explain everything that needs to be done BEFORE I get to the shift then take pictures every time I showed up. If she continued to leave the kitchen a mess with nothing prepped, I’d leave it the same way for her. I’m sure your friendship with your bosses is stopping you from showing the chick a thing or two, but she deserves to walk into a wrecked kitchen and start from scratch.

    I never thought of taking pictures. I’m sure my cell phone would melt in my hand.

    I kinda went through this with a different woman years ago. She pulled the same shit…kitchen a mess, yet bitching if she had to do one thing. She was one of the reasons I quit (the other reason was no one would fix the fucking swamp cooler and it was 110 degrees in the kitchen at 10:30 in the morning). The woman drove me bat shit insane and I flat out couldn’t take it anymore. She turned out to be a hard lesson for Jim & Sharron.

    The thing is I know I can be difficult. I know I can be an asshole. I know I’m not perfect. I know people forget to do things, or they are exhausted at the end of a shift, and I don’t sweat the small stuff. But completely defaulting on a disaster really gets under my skin.

    If she never has to see what it’s like to do prep last minute, she’ll never learn.

    I don’t think she’s the type to learn. I think she’s the type to keep sticking the bobby pin in the electrical outlet until someone takes it away from her.

    Reply

  7. DarcsFalcon
    Apr 24, 2012 @ 23:16:37

    Wow. Just wow. I knew better than to pull that kind of crap at my 1st job when I was a teen, and you say this woman’s almost 40? “Emotional problems” doesn’t begin to cover it.

    I hope the rest of Hell Week hasn’t been too bad. As I write, it’s Tues so it should all be water under the bridge, hopefully!

    Just, try not to accidentally lock her in the freezer next time she barricades herself in. Juries frown on that sort of thing. 😉

    Reply

Leave a Reply

