“I Know You!”

I had the most bizarre thing happen to me on Sunday.

We had a group of bikers in for their monthly meeting in the back of the bar and several tables in the dining room.  I had just finished taking orders for the bikers, and was in the process of getting all the burgers on the grill when Sharron said there was someone who wanted to talk to me.

“She says she knows you.”

I opened the swinging doors and there was a woman with a look of absolute joy on her face.

“I know you!  We used to work together!”

I had no idea who she was.

“You used to be a CNA and we worked together!”

“Uh…NO.  I’ve never been a CNA.”

“Yes you were, and we worked together!”

“No, sorry, but I’ve never worked at a hospital or in any medical capacity.”

“Well, where have you worked?”

“Uh…the Harribalsac and the Spaghetti Western.  That covers the last 5 years.”

“Where have you worked since then?”

“Here.”

“Oh!  I know!  You used to work at that little store on the hill.”

“No.  I’ve never worked in a little store anywhere.”

“Yes, you did!”

“No!  I DIDN’T”

“Your name is Holly, right?”

“Yes.”

“Well then, I know you.”

You got me there.  I know this woman’s name, so I guess we are friends.

“I’m sorry, but I don’t know who you are.”

“Are you from here?”

“Yes.  I’m sorry, but I’m very busy and I need to get back to work.”

“Well, where else have you worked.”

“LADY, I DON’T KNOW YOU.  I’M SORRY.”

I closed the swinging doors in her face and went back to work.

I felt Sharron eyeballing me from across the kitchen.

“I have no idea who she is.”

“Yeah, I got that.”

So last night while I was in bed reading ’50 Shades of Gr-Ahahaha’ I felt a faint memory trying to surface.  I remembered when I was cooking at the airport, that woman came in to talk to one of the servers.  I told the server I didn’t want to talk to her because she was the most painfully stupid woman I had ever met.  Worse still, she was an arguing stupid, as in you could tell her something, “The sky is blue” and she would argue about it endlessly.

Still, I have no memory of working with her, so it had to have been before I moved to Laramie in 1991.  After I moved back from Laramie in 1997, I had office jobs, where I was pretty much the only person, until I started cooking at the airport in 2003. 

As much as I rack my brain, I can’t place where I met her, but I obviously didn’t like her.  After yesterday’s encounter, I can see nothing has changed; she still argues, she’s still dumb and oblivious, and I still don’t like her.

Still.

7 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. wigsf3
    May 23, 2012 @ 09:47:02

    I hate those people. Once a person was convinced I was some guy from Iran and had only been in Canada for a few years. I had to explain to the guy that if I’d been from Iran I would have an accent. He still didn’t believe me.

    Well…unless you were a top secret spy, then you’d lose your accent. But if you were a top secret spy, you’d just kill him to shut him up.

    Reply

  2. DarcKnyt
    May 23, 2012 @ 10:34:27

    Well, that’s bizarre. I don’t know if I’ve ever had someone say they remembered me from someplace and I couldn’t recall them; it’s usually the other way around. I never forget a face and I’ve startled people from high school when I spoke to them in line at the grocery store or saw them out someplace.

    Now I know how they must feel.

    I don’t remember people like I used to. Either my brain is full or I just don’t give a shit.

    Reply

  3. Squiggy's mom
    May 23, 2012 @ 10:43:14

    If they can find you in Wyoming, they can find you anywhere!

    Ain’t that the truth.

    Reply

  4. thelifeofjamie
    May 23, 2012 @ 12:01:59

    I get that all the time. Evidently I look like a friend of a friend of everyone.

    I get confused with a woman here in town quite a lot. We really don’t look alike and she’s about 10 years older than I am so I don’t quite understand it.

    Reply

  5. skippymom
    May 23, 2012 @ 13:26:12

    You would think after going through the litany of your employment she would get the point. Jeesh. Seems she is still painfully stupid.

    I guess technically she was right, I did know she’s stupid, but she could have been a customer or a friend of a friend. My only memory of her was trying to avoid her.

    If I didn’t know you would kick her ass I would almost be afraid for you. She sounds like she could evolve into a stalker. The worst kind – the “nice, I want to be your friend b/c I know you” persistent little shit.

    Sadly, I could see that happening. Then I would have to be mean. I don’t like being mean.

    Good luck with the weirdos. You can take’em. 🙂

    Only because I’ve had so much experience with them. 😦

    Reply

  6. DarcsFalcon
    May 24, 2012 @ 21:10:12

    That’s bizarre. You recall enough to know you don’t like her, but can’t remember how you know that. I’d probably get all OCD over it and start making lists of all the places I’d worked and all the people I knew just to see if it’d spark something.

    I did and I can’t come up with anything. I remembered I didn’t like her…for pretty much what she did at the restaurant…arguing.

    Hopefully she’ll not come back, and will leave you in peace about it! Sheesh, she seemed awfully stubborn.

    She doesn’t live in Meeteetse, so I doubt I’ll see her again.

    Reply

  7. Hira Animfefte
    Jun 12, 2012 @ 15:44:26

    I hate people who know me that I don’t know back. Happens to me all the time. Especially in church. They’ll know my name, too, and I’ll be like, “Hi…!” and have no idea who Mystery Person is.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

