Extra Hours

Bullwinkle (aka Ding Dong) quit on Thursday.  On one hand this is excellent news, on the other it blows.

The way the restaurant works is one person is the cook and the server.  If it gets busy, Bagheera is the back up.  She is also there to make pizza dough, prep, clean, and generally work like a rented mule.  BUT! she needs time off just like the rest of us.  Speedy Gonzales and I don’t call her unless we absolutely have to.   Bullwinkle was completely useless and needed constant supervision.  Bagheera beat a dead horse trained her all winter, hoping that she would be able to step up and actually work a shift on her own this summer.  I insisted that if Bagheera had to work with Bullwinkle for her entire shift, it would be easier to get rid of her.  I mean, why pay someone when you have to do their work.

As soon as Bagheera stopped coddling Bullwinkle and got after her for not working, she quit.  Everyone thought she was so sweet, but I caught her in several lies and nailed her as a manipulator.  I’m a manipulator, so I know one when I see one.  Bullwinkle didn’t like me at all because she knew I was on to her and I wasn’t going to take any of her shit.  This chick was dumb, dumber than dumb, and she turned everything into a crisis and high drama.  I don’t play those games.  I tell you to up your meds, get your shit together and get to work.  She wanted to waste time telling everyone how stressed she was after cooking a hamburger and reap the attention and sympathy while Bagheera cleaned up the kitchen and dining room.  Fuck that shit. 

Adios, asshole. 

So now we are short staffed, and that blows, but it means I can pick up extra shifts and make more money.  ‘Tis the season for making money, and you can’t bitch about that.

5 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. DarcKnyt
    May 28, 2012 @ 14:28:10

    Well, it’s been a long time since I’ve seen a reference to The Jungle Book, but well done. 🙂 Happy Memorial Day.

    Bagheera took care of things and tried to keep everyone on the right track. I thought it was a perfect likeness.

    Reply

  2. DarcsFalcon
    May 28, 2012 @ 21:57:47

    Wow, after all that time invested in her training! I bet S was mad!

    That’s the sad thing. So much was invested in her and she just walked away.

    Hopefully the next hire will be worth their salt at least and won’t cause you the trouble that this one did.

    Sadly, finding someone in this town who wants to work is next to impossible. It’s a town of retirees, kids, and misfits.

    Reply

  3. skippymom
    May 29, 2012 @ 09:11:29

    I wish I lived closer so I could come work with you. That would be fun and I know I wouldn’t let you or Bagheera down.

    We’d whip everyone into shape!

    Too bad you can’t find a teenager – at least for the summer. I know Squirrel wants a job desperately but she doesn’t have retail or restaurant experience [she is a 19 yo college student] only office experience – so it is tough finding a job for her. She has been looking for a month.

    We have plenty of girls who want to serve, but young people can’t cook and once they are old enough to, it seems they don’t want to. Sigh. I wish we had some sort of workforce to draw on.

    PS – the sweater fits like a dream. Thank you again, and again, and again. I hope it is a wee bit cool on Friday b/c I really want to wear it to the band banquet. 🙂
    I’m glad. I made the arms a little longer than what the pattern called for so I was worried you were going to have ape arms.

    Reply

  4. Squiggy's mom
    May 29, 2012 @ 16:10:51

    I’ve noticed a recurring phrase – “Fuck that shit”. It’s one of my favorites too – let’s people know in no uncertain terms where you stand on an issue.

    It seems to come out of my mouth a lot.

    Reply

  5. Hira Animfefte
    Jun 12, 2012 @ 15:38:30

    Serving plus cooking sounds like a crapload of multitasking. Of course, you are the queen of foodservice, and can do anything.

    It isn’t bad in the off season, but it gets a little hectic in the summer. Lately I’ve been just cooking and Bagheera waits tables. I still get the tips since she’s the owner and she feels tips are part of the cook’s wages.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

