Stargate Universe & New Phone Woes

That’s a dude.

I watched the original Stargate movie with my brother and every time Ra (Jaye Davidson) showed up on screen I whispered, “That’s a dude.”  I’m sure it got old.  I liked the movie and even though it’s been years since I’ve seen it, I remember the concept.

I started watching Stargate Universe because of my infatuation with Robert Carlyle and I have to say, I really like this show.  I like the music, the visuals of Destiny racing through space, and the dynamics of people trapped far from home with no idea how to get back.  I’m very disappointed that there are only 40 episodes and I’m savoring every one of them.

One of the most hilarious moments so far was in the episode ‘Earth’ when Colonel Young, Eli and Chloe visited Earth by using the communication stones.  Colonel Young was doing the nasty with his ex (using Colonel Telford’s body) when suddenly Destiny dropped out of FTL (warp drive) and Colonel Telford was back in his own body.  I howled.  How very awkward.

In other news, I need a new phone.  It’s time for my 2 year upgrade and I don’t know what to get.  I’ve had Palm products for the last 6 years and I’d select another one, but HP acquired Palm and haven’t introduced a new phone in at least 2 years.

I want, in order of importance:

  • A free phone.  My phone bill is an arm & a leg and I’ll be damned if I’m paying for a phone too.
  • An actual QWERTY keyboard (not a slider)
  • Threaded text messages
  • A touchscreen

Good luck, right.

I’m looking at a Blackberry Curve 9330, a Samsung Illusion, an HTC Rhyme, or a Droid Pro.  Honestly, I hate them all.

Blackberry

  • Free
  • Keyboard
  • Threaded texts
  • No touchscreen

My daughter loves her Blackberry, but I’ve never been interested in one because it isn’t a touchscreen.  The serious drawback with this phone is RIM is getting ready to take a big shit.  Within 2 years the Blackberry is going to go the way of Palm products and good luck getting any support on them.  Providing, of course, they last the next 2 years.

Samsung Illusion

  • Free
  • Threaded texts
  • Touchscreen
  • Virtual keyboard

This is an Droid and it’s small like my current phone.  Droids seem to be all the rage right now and Samsung is one of the fastest growing companies, so support will be around for a while.  BUT! it has a virtual keyboard and I’m more than a little sure I’m going to hate it.  I’ve never used a virtual keyboard and I’m not sure I want to start.

Droid Pro

  • Free
  • Threaded texts
  • Touchscreen
  • Actual keyboard

This should be the perfect phone for me.  It has everything I want plus more than I need, but the damned thing is the size of a brick.  It weighs twice as much as my current phone and is wider and longer.  I do have an issue with not being able to find my phone since it’s so small and weighs nothing, so maybe a bigger phone is what I need.

HTC Rhyme

  • Free
  • Touchscreen
  • Virtual keyboard
  • Threaded Texts

This is the phone that is the closest to my current phone and probably the phone I’ll get based on CNET reviews.  It’s a small, mid-range Droid and the data package is cheaper than with my current phone.  That’s a plus.  It would be perfect if it had an actual keyboard, but I guess I can’t have everything.

Any suggestions?  If you have experience with any of these phones, or virtual keyboards, please give me your opinions.  I need to make a decision in the next few weeks so any insight is appreciated.

12 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Bob
    May 30, 2012 @ 09:36:07

    Stargate Universe was a really fun show.

    I think you were the one who recommended it, so thank you!

    Reply

  2. DarcKnyt
    May 30, 2012 @ 09:41:06

    Stargate is one of my favorite movies! And yeah, when I saw it the first time, I was like “That’s a…dude?!”

    So yeah. Dude look like a lady.

    I already knew she was a he because of The Crying Game but my poor brother was completely confused.

    Reply

  3. Cherry
    May 30, 2012 @ 10:00:27

    Making the switch to a virtual keyboard is actually a total pain – I had Blackberries for several years and switched to the Samsung Epic. This is about the largest of the virtual keyboards, and I still struggle with it. I’d take the hit on size and go for the Droid Pro. Looking forward to seeing what you choose!

    I’m afraid I’ll end up pitching the virtual keyboard out the actual window. My son says it isn’t a big deal, but you should see some of the texts he sends. The Droid Pro had a lot of issues on CNET. Many users hated it too. If I was honest, my phone that I love so much is a piece of shit so I doubt the Pro is any worse.

    Reply

  4. Chunky Mama
    May 30, 2012 @ 13:19:43

    My Hubs has an HTC Droid and has never had a single issue with it in 2yrs. I’d definitely go for that one. I have a Motorola Droid and it has been a piece of shit from the beginning.

    Many reviewers hated the Motorola phone…can’t make a call, speakers don’t work, freezes up, shuts down for no reason…hey, sounds a lot like the phone I have now. HTC seems to put out a good phone.

    Reply

  5. Ahmnodt Heare
    May 30, 2012 @ 16:37:41

    I would get the Rhyme or Illusion. The problem I have with keyboards is that I tend to wear the buttons out. I am doing better with touchscreen thanks to my GPS, which I liked until the software update wiped out most of my data.

    I do the same thing. Hopefully I won’t wear a hole in the touchscreen.

    Reply

  6. DarcsFalcon
    May 31, 2012 @ 00:07:58

    The virtual keyboard is the only one I’ve ever had, and it’s not too bad. I wish it would respond to my nails though instead of my fingertips. It’s hard to get my fingers on a single tiny key. One thing that is nice though is that our phones have a voice command thing, where we can speak into the phone and it will translate that into text so I often don’t even use the virtual keyboard at all. 🙂

    Stargate rocked. One of my favorites. 🙂 Never watched any of the series though.

    Reply

  7. Pharmtechgurl
    May 31, 2012 @ 08:53:43

    Look at the Nokia X2 – small, light, good keyboard, keeps messages as conversations, easy to use

    It’s through T-Mobile and we don’t have that here, otherwise it’s not a bad looking phone.

    Reply

  8. Squiggy's mom
    Jun 01, 2012 @ 01:33:00

    Loved the Stargate movie, ditto SG-1. I started watching Universe, but it started to get confusing so I gave up on it. At least I think that’s why I stopped watching it.

    I had trouble telling people apart. Luckily they wear the same clothes so I started recognizing them by their garments.

    No opinion on the cellphone except that I don’t like them (I don’t even know my #). Mine is only for when I’m on the road – you don’t want to be halfway to town, break down, and not have one. I know you can relate to that! Confused by a tv show, can’t depend on memory, don’t like cellphones – that pretty much gives my age category away. ;o) I’m sure you’ll pick one that just right for you.

    I guess if I hate it I can give it to one of my kids and buy another phone like I have on ebay.

    Reply

  9. Evm
    Jun 02, 2012 @ 10:56:39

    See I hit the other way with SGU – too much personal stuff, not enough characters I cared about at all.

    I like Dr. Rush, Greer & Eli. I have trouble figuring out who the rest of them are.

    We got up to Ep 5 where *imminent catastrophe* is warned from early on in the episode and within about 5 mins I knew what they were going to do….

    I don’t watch much science fiction (other than Star Trek) so I didn’t see them refueling in the star.

    by the time i got to the end of the ep i found myself internally chanting “crash, crash crash”! and realised i didn’t actually like the show or the characters. Each to their own!

    Californication is the only show where I suddenly realized I hated everyone and wondered why I was still watching it. Sadly, one of the actresses I hated most ended up on one of my favourite shows. I do spend time yelling, “kill her, kill her, kill her” every time she’s in a scene.

    Cellphones -I’ve never got on with virtual keyboards and I’ve ended buying an older phone pre-andriod HTC called the Kaiser (aka the TYTN II).

    I see myself buying another Pixi on ebay after I throw the virtual keyboard out the window.

    Reply

  10. dawn hodose
    Jun 04, 2012 @ 13:38:08

    Droid 3 has both. Go to wirefly.com. you may be able to get a better deal.

    I’ll check it out!

    Reply

  11. Hira Animfefte
    Jun 09, 2012 @ 12:50:20

    Doesn’t StarGate Universe happen after StarGate SG1? Have you already seen SG1? I’m (very very slowly) watching it with some friends of mine who’ve already seen the whole series. I’ve gotten through most of season one so far.

    I think so. I didn’t watch SG1, I was only interested in SGU for Robert Carlyle, but now I might have to go back and watch it.

    Reply

  12. Hira Animfefte
    Jun 12, 2012 @ 15:31:41

    SG1 has McGuyver. Or the guy who played McGuyver. What’s-his-name. He’s pretty young, hot, and wisecracky at the start of the series. Later on they get Michael Crichton and Aerin Sun of Farscape. Well, not them, the actors that play them, whose names I can’t recall to save my life either. I haven’t gotten to their seasons yet, but they are both terrific actors.

    It’s funny how every planet in SG1 looks like the Pacific Northwest. That’s because it was all filmed in British Columbia, of course. What a coinkidink! 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

