Verizon Can Suck a Choad

After much thinking, second-guessing, review reading and fondling of phones, I decided to get the HTC Rhyme.  It had everything I wanted except an actual keyboard, but that seems to be the way things are going and I guess I need to adapt or die.  I went to my Verizon online store and started ordering the phone.  Nothing changed on my plan, but just when I got ready to hit the ‘Order’ button, I noticed a $30 charge.

Verizon is now charging $30 to upgrade or add a new device. 

WTF?!

If I stay with my current plan and either buy a phone or get a free one, I have to pay the $30 fee.

If I reduce my plan and get a cheap assed free phone, I have to pay the $30 fee.

If I buy a phone on ebay, I have to pay the $30 fee.

If I drop my current phone in the toilet and switch back to my old phone, I have to pay the $30 fee.

This is the most ridiculous example of corporate greed I’ve ever seen.

I remember reading an article about this several months ago and apparently the outcry has been tremendous, but not enough that Verizon gives a shit.

I pay for 4 phone lines.  My bill is $250 a month.  We have 3 smartphones on the account, which all require their very own $30 a month data plan.  Every month when the bill is due I feel like poking my eyes out.  Verizon is making enough money off me already without tacking on another $30 fee every time someone adds a new device to the account.  Granted, if it happened every month, maybe I could see it as a penalty, but not for a 2 year upgrade.

I will NOT pay the $30 fee.  It needs to be waived or I’m switching to one of the pre-paid plans.  I want some of that “The customer is always right” business I hear about.

Greedy bastards.

10 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Sparty Girl
    Jun 06, 2012 @ 05:25:26

    Verizon must be run by someone from a bank. Or an airline. Those industries are both real experienced with fees that do nothing except enhance the company’s bottom line.

    Blood suckers is what they are.

    Good luck with your decision. We do the cheap route here: used phones off ebay and pre-paid plans. Unlimited texting for the kids, but I refuse to pay for data plans. Soon I, too, will have to adapt or die, but I think I can put it off for awhile longer. 🙂

    I’m still looking at my options. I’m worried that I won’t get service on the pre-paid plan since I live out in the sticks and barely get service on Verizon.

    Reply

  2. Bob
    Jun 06, 2012 @ 06:38:10

    You can’t just take your SIM card and put it into a new phone?

    I don’t know what that means. I realized just a week ago that turning WiFi on instead of using Verizon’s shitty 3G network makes my phone work better and my battery last longer. They say the $30 is to pay for classes on how to use your phone, and maybe I need to just cough up the $30 bucks and learn something.

    Reply

  3. DarcKnyt
    Jun 06, 2012 @ 07:07:38

    Wow. That sucks. And you know what we found? Verizon is still one of the “best” cell carriers around. *Sigh*

    I know. I’m out on the edges of the map so I’m lucky to get service. Switching to someone else may make things worse.

    Reply

  4. thelifeofjamie
    Jun 06, 2012 @ 07:12:53

    They are all like that unfortunately. I had to pay that also. Can you get Sprint in your area? I pay for three lines and the data plan is 10 bucks a phone. And its all unlimited.

    We have Verizon, AT&T and some pre-paid options. From what I understand, Verizon is the cheapest of the 4 big providers for the upgrade fee. Why do people willingly bend over for this stuff?

    Reply

  5. Squiggy's mom
    Jun 06, 2012 @ 14:40:38

    It seems the name of the game these days is “screw the consumer anyway you can”. Hell, even Squiggy’s tank filters have only half the amount of charcoal they had a year ago, so now they’re good for a week, one rinse, then maybe 3 or 4 more days before I have to use a new filter. At least one company a week really pisses me off.

    Don’t even get me started on how I receive a daily screwing in one form or another. Making the product cheaper AND raising the price is not nice. Labeling it New and Improved only insults my intelligence.

    Reply

  6. Serenity
    Jun 06, 2012 @ 21:48:38

    wait, to pay for the classes? Are they a friggn’ requirement? Because I am capable of reading the user’s manual if need be. Is that the best excuse they could come up with? lamesauce

    According to the company spokeswoman, the $30 fee is to help users with their devices http://money.msn.com/shopping-deals/article.aspx?post=24e85934-ae9c-4455-ae69-e17dd3acc945

    I’ve had a smartphone for 2 years, I know I can go to the phone manufacturer’s website and learn how to use it or I can read the manual or I can be happy using half the phone’s capabilities. Also, I live in Bumfuct, Egypt…we don’t have a store that offers classes. It would have been best to just admit greed.

    Reply

  7. pissyserver (@pissyserver)
    Jun 07, 2012 @ 09:39:54

    I left Cingular (remember them?) for the exact same bullshit. I’ve been with Verizon and have loved them now for about ten years … right up until about a month ago when my old phone’s battery began to give out. Financially, it’s cheaper to get a new phone, plus I, too, decided I need to adapt or die, so started looking at smartphones …

    Yep. The $30 charge stopped me dead in my tracks. I hear WalMart offers pay-as-you-go smartphones with unlimited everything for something like $40 a month and a free phone … urban legend? I don’t know. I hate WalMart, but am thinking I might need to take a stroll through that hell just to avoid the hell of being subsumed by corporate greed.

    Bastards.

    HAHAHAHA! Cingular. I do remember them. The pre-paid phone I’m looking at is through Straight Talk. You can buy online (straighttalk.com) so you don’t have to go to the hell that is Walmart. The plan is $45/mo for unlimited everything. You can get a simple free phone or you can upgrade with costs ranging from $20-$180. I would say more than half my friends use this provider after leaving Verizon or AT&T and they seem happy with it. I’m still thinking.

    Reply

  8. Hira Animfefte
    Jun 09, 2012 @ 12:39:43

    My old stupidphone is starting to die. Soon it’ll be time for me to get a new phone. I’m not looking forward to the process.

    I want to keep my old text messages and certain voicemails. One in particular. I expect Major Headache.

    I have Verizon too.

    I think you should be able to keep voicemails, you will lose text messages. Upgrading is sometimes not the best thing.

    Reply

  9. DarcsFalcon
    Jun 10, 2012 @ 21:36:03

    Ohhh, I would not be happy about that extra charge at all. At ALL. I know they did away with their “new every 2” program, but this is insane. We’re already paying for data packages and all kinds of extra BS.

    I get tired of paying for everything…but wait…there’s more!

    Plus, it REALLY irritates me how the new customers get all the nice discounts but the long-time existing customers get screwed.

    I hear you on this. We’ve been with Verizon for years and every time I renew I feel like I’m being punished.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

