Fabulous News

No, I didn’t win the Publisher’s Clearinghouse Sweepstakes.  Ed McMahon didn’t show up on my doorstep with a big check, which is good since he’s dead, but it’s nearly that good.

My brother is back from Afghanistan!! 

When I got the news tears of joy leaked from my eyes.  Only military families understand the constant worry, stress and unease that permeates every bit of your life when a loved one is in harm’s way.  When they return, it’s like a huge weight has been lifted and only then do you realize you’ve been holding your breath for years just waiting for bad news:  killed in the line of duty, AWOL, missing in action, went crazy, killed everybody in sight and set their corpses on fire.  You just never know.

Of course, he laughs and says it’s boring as hell in the war zone.  I think he lies to keep my mom and I from losing our minds.  The best lie was the one he told to his barely-English-speaking wife when he was in Iraq:  “I’m just checking cars.”  She envisioned him kicking tires on a used car lot.  When I realized  he was checking cars for bombs and bombers in the style of ‘The Hurt Locker’ I went to my knees.    

He said it took “about an hour, two luffas, half a bottle of body wash, two razors, and a little bit of bleach” to get the stench of Afghanistan off him.  Apparently the military doesn’t provide those things.  I’m overjoyed he’s back safe and uninjured, which wasn’t the case when he returned from Iraq.

It’s been more than two years since I saw my brother and I can’t wait until he makes it up here for a visit in a couple of weeks.  I always try to pry war stories out of him, but he pokes me, and says, “If I tell you, I’ll have to kill you” and he laughs.  Somehow, even though he’s the funniest person I’ve ever met,  I don’t think he’s joking.

14 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Sean Vantuyl
    Jun 08, 2012 @ 15:33:04

    Welcome back brother. get some chow and some rest! You’ve earned it!

    Thank you!

    Reply

  2. Squishy
    Jun 08, 2012 @ 15:41:46

    I just wanted to say congrats. I lurk on your blog and am happy for you. Our men and women coming home have it rough. And I understand the worry. God bless and thank you for your family’s sacrifice.

    Thank you!

    Reply

  3. DarcsFalcon
    Jun 08, 2012 @ 15:57:15

    Oh Holly, I am SO happy for you! That is wonderful news!

    And please, please give your brother a big salute and a “thank you” from me. 🙂

    I will let him know!

    Reply

  4. Hira Animfefte
    Jun 08, 2012 @ 16:05:38

    Yay! That’s great news. So glad to hear it. 🙂

    It is such a relief!

    Reply

  5. DarcKnyt
    Jun 08, 2012 @ 16:51:51

    OH, praise God he came home safe and sound! Good for you!

    I said many prayers of thanks.

    Reply

  6. thelifeofjamie
    Jun 08, 2012 @ 17:11:54

    so glad he’s home! YAY!

    Me too!

    Reply

  7. zannyro
    Jun 08, 2012 @ 18:37:02

    So happy to hear that your brother is home!!!!!! Hugs all around!!!!!!
    Tell him “Thank you” for me 🙂

    I will let him know he’s appreciated.

    Reply

  8. Sarah Richens
    Jun 08, 2012 @ 19:15:49

    I’m sure I speak for many others when I say not only are we glad he is home, but we are grateful for his service to our country!

    Thank you!

    Reply

  9. Fuck My Table
    Jun 08, 2012 @ 20:22:21

    What wonderful news. Please thank your brother for me, for his service in the military. I have nothing but respect for the people who choose to give over their lives to the service of their country and those who live in it.

    Thank you!

    Reply

  10. Squiggy's mom
    Jun 08, 2012 @ 22:07:10

    That IS fantastic news! My first husband was in VietNam while I was pregnant with our first child, and I know that feeling of holding your breath. As a vet myself, I have the utmost respect for what our military has had to deal with in Iraq and Afghanistan. I think it’s a shame that because of our downsized military, so many units have had to return again and again. Please thank your brother for me, I’m so glad he made it home safe and in one piece.

    The waiting and not knowing is terrible. I’ll be sure to let him know he’s appreciated.

    Reply

  11. Kriss Judd
    Jun 09, 2012 @ 15:13:41

    Congratulations!!! Please thank your brother for his service…..and keep in mind, for you and the rest of your family, “They also serve, who stand and wait.” Thank YOU for sharing your brother with the rest of us!!

    Thank you for your very kind words.

    Reply

  12. michele
    Jun 09, 2012 @ 17:04:56

    glad he ‘s safe and sound. i hope i get to meet him this summer!

    He won’t be here when you are. He’s only coming for a few days at the end of this month.

    Reply

  13. Sparty Girl
    Jun 11, 2012 @ 05:14:56

    Yay!! I was just thinking about his tour last night, and wondering when he was supposed to be done. I’m so glad he’s home. Give him a hug for me!

    Oooh, will the kids get to see him?

    Yes, he & Cameron will be here while the kids are here. It should be fun.

    Reply

Leave a comment