The Post of Many Topics

1.  I got a $50 bonus for working like a crazy person last weekend.  We were very busy Friday night and Sunday all day.  Saturday night was a big ball of insanity.  There was a rodeo in town and afterwards everyone came to eat steak dinners.  Holy shit.  At one point I thought about huddling in a corner and crying, but I didn’t have time to get off the line.  My bosses are awesome and apparently so am I.  The bonus is very appreciated.

2.  Verizon is changing their data plans to a Share Everything deal.  If I understand the new plan correctly, I should save at least $60 a month.  I guess I’ll knuckle under and pay the $30 one time fee for upgrading my phone.

3.  In Hot Gossip news, Betty Booze kicked Shaggy to the curb and moved in with Davey.  This has caused a shit storm of drama at the Cowboy.  Davey isn’t known for maintaining employment and he’s the type who will bring in a bag of pennies to buy a beer.  He doesn’t have a car, he lives in a one bedroom shack, and his mother raises his kid (and Davey most of the time).  The only person more worthless is his brother.  And while Shaggy’s brother is raising his kids, at least Shaggy has a job and a car. 

Betty Booze is a filthy hot mess.  Her 15 year old, high school drop out daughter was busted for underage drinking last weekend,  she quit/got fired from her full time job at the Visitor Center (something about being drunk and disgusting in public), so she’s picked up extra hours at the Outlaw.  Well, except she can’t seem to make it to work because her life is in disarray.  Shaggy threw all her shit out in the yard (typically when you move out, you take your shit with you), and now she’s busy telling people that the reason she left is because Shaggy and Foghorn Leghorn are having a gay affair.  That will get her neck snapped.  

Ahhh, it reminds me of Meeteetse in the 1970s.  When this little town decides to go crazy, it does it right.  To combine my two favourite shows (Buffy & Supernatural) it’s as if the town sits on a Hellmouth of demonic possession.

4.  My Kindle is awesome!  I am addicted to reading again.  The only downfall I see is when I browse books on it, it is way too easy to accidentally buy a book.  I’ve purchased two books I didn’t want because I wanted to read more of the description and the cursor was on “Buy”.  I can immediately return them, but the refund takes several days and it’s annoying.  If I purchase something off my computer, it confirms that I want to make the purchase.  Not so with the Kindle.  The book is delivered before I can say, “Aw, shit!”

5.  Country Time Strawberry Lemonade is my new favourite thing.

8 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Squiggy's mom
    Jun 14, 2012 @ 16:17:14

    A $50 bonus is nothing to sneeze at, for sure – congrats. :o) Buffy rules!!! I named one of my cats after her. I’ve never seen Supernatural.

    Supernatural is awesome! It’s on Netflix instant.

    Reply

  2. thelifeofjamie
    Jun 14, 2012 @ 17:49:54

    Why is there so much drama in restaurants! I swear! When I worked in restaurants, I was very grateful I didn’t fall into the fucked up category!

    Because you have to be somewhat touched in the head to work in food service. Here, the alcohol plays a huge part in the drama.

    Reply

  3. wigsf3
    Jun 15, 2012 @ 03:46:19

    I have this feeling that the Kindle is designed to piss you off to the point of chucking the thing into the fire. It’s kindling.

    They even named one of them a Fire, just in case Kindle wasn’t enough of a hint.

    And every once in a while, remember that not everybody in the world is a drunken buffoon. Maybe not in your town, but there are places in the world that aren’t filled with drunken buffoons.

    I know there are sober people out there and I know there are people who can have a few drinks without making complete asses of themselves. I feel like I’m an adult forced to sit at the kids’ table. But I do love a good train wreck, so this is pretty entertaining.

    Reply

  4. Sparty Girl
    Jun 15, 2012 @ 07:25:50

    Wow, there sure is a lot going on in your world. Just think how much more exciting it’s going to be over the next two weeks with all the family visiting from far away places! 🙂

    I am SO looking forward to seeing everyone!

    The bonus is AWESOME! Isn’t it great to be working for people who appreciate you? I agree with wigsf… once in awhile step back and remember that the whole world is not drunk and dysfunctional.

    I need to get out of town more. A few weeks ago I had lunch with 4 of my girlfriends and it was heaven.

    Reply

  5. GingerG
    Jun 15, 2012 @ 07:30:39

    I have done the same thing with my Kindle, why couldn’t they add one more step and ask you to confirm your purchase? I have had to get a couple of refunds too, it’s just really annoying.

    I’m glad it’s not just me. One would think they would get tired of issuing refunds and add that extra step.

    Reply

  6. zmanowner
    Jun 15, 2012 @ 16:38:31

    Lots of drama..even though i dont know the people you talk about…i somehow envision these scenarios with the actual cartoon character…..dont have a kindle but i hear they are awesome and its suppose to be easy to get refunded..hmmmmmmzman sends

    The actual cartoon characters have more going for them.

    I really like my Kindle and it’s just the basic one. I’m too lazy to go to the library, and we don’t have a good bookstore around here so I had pretty much quit reading. With the Kindle, I have access to an unlimited number of books, delivered immediately. Who could ask for more?

    Reply

  7. Hira Animfefte
    Jun 16, 2012 @ 17:32:36

    Your gossip is way better than office gossip. Just saying. 🙂

    Speaking of which, I’m watching my way through old seasons of The Office on The Reruns Channel. I don’t know what it’s really called. It’s channel 6 on my cable. (I’m too poor for Netflix. Really, it’s my parents’ cable.) I finally watched the end of the last season I’d seen and saw how Jim and Pam got together. Aw! How sweet! And Dwight has just killed Angela’s cat.

    I love The Office! That’s some funny shit. Toby and Michael kill me.

    Your life has more entertainment than TV, and it’s REAL.

    It’s only entertaining in retrospect. It’s annoying as hell while it’s happening.

    Reply

  8. DarcsFalcon
    Jun 17, 2012 @ 20:45:46

    Booyah on the bonus! 🙂

    Extra money is always awesome!

    I’m nervous about the new Verizon structure too. We’re not due to upgrade for a few months yet but I guess we’ll see what happens. Score that your payment will be lower!

    I’m hoping it will be. I could use a break.

    You know, I don’t think I’ve ever purchased a book through the Kindle App. I’ve browsed stuff, but I guess I’ve only purchased through my comp. I’ll have to be aware of this – I know I’ve gotten stung a couple times through their website too.

    I stopped browsing on the Kindle unless I’m dead sure I’m ready to buy.

    Maybe you could write down the drama of your town and market as a new night-time soap to a cable channel. Dallas is back, I hear, this could be the WY version. 🙂 It could be centered around cooking oil, instead of crude oil. 😀

    The crap that goes on in the bar could rival any night-time soap, except the people on the shows have ambition. That is sadly lacking here.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

