About:Blank

Years ago when I was a teenager, my mom, my brother and I went to Cody for groceries.  I think I was 16 or 17, so my brother would have been 10 or 11 at the time, and he was just beginning what would be a freakish growth spurt.  We were in our 1968 VW Beetle, it was summer, we had the wind in our hair, and life was good.

When we got to Cody a bee (or a wasp) flew in the car and after much flailing and shrieking, my brother killed it on the floor in the back seat.  We got our groceries, ran some errands, got a snack and headed back to Meeteetse.  For some reason, my brother decided to take off his shoes and socks.

At some point on the way home, I heard an ear splitting shriek from the back seat and then my brother started screaming, “GET IT OUT! GET IT OUT!”  He crammed his abnormally large foot in my mom’s face, which caused her to almost roll the car. 

“I’m driving,” she said, swatting his foot out of her face.

So he floundered around, still screaming, “GET IT OUT! GET IT OUT!” and stuck his foot in my face.

“I’m not touching it.  Mom’s the EMT.  Make her get it out,” I said, hardly taking my nose out of the Tiger Beat magazine I was reading.

We pulled over, my mom scrapped the bee (or wasp) out of his foot, chastised him for taking his shoes and socks off AFTER he killed a bee (or wasp) on the floor, and we went on our merry way.  Yeah, my brother sobbed in the back for a while, but I turned up the 8-Track tape player and we couldn’t hear him.

What does this story have to do with About: Blank?  Apparently, my computer has this browser hijacking crap on it and I have tried everything to get rid of it.  I’m to the point of sticking it in someone’s face and shrieking, “GET IT OUT! GET IT OUT!” 

Any suggestions on getting rid of it, or is it time for a new computer?

15 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Jim
    Jun 15, 2012 @ 21:35:29

    These are my favourite bad-crap-fighter stand-bys, they are all free to download. I would try them in this order:
    1. CCleaner (Piriform)
    2. Malwarebytes Anti-Malware
    3. HiJackThis.

    The first two are fairly straight-forward, just load and go. HiJackThis involves running a program and sending the resulting report for evaluation. My money is on the first two.

    I downloaded Malwarebytes after the problem started. It hasn’t removed the virus, but at least now I can get the hijack under control. I’ll try the CCleaner.

    Reply

  2. Squiggy's mom
    Jun 15, 2012 @ 22:58:15

    MalwareBytes is really good. Do they still publish Tiger Beat? I was reading it in the 60’s! Boys can be such weenies……

    I’m using Malwarebytes and it has helped. I should have had it on my computer before this happened because it’s damned hard to remove it. I don’t know if Tiger Beat is still around. That little gem of a story happened somewhere around 1979-80.

    Reply

  3. wigsf3
    Jun 16, 2012 @ 06:03:02

    Computer meet baseball bat.
    Solves all computer problems mainly the problem of having a stupid computer. (They’re evil!)

    Yes, I understand irony.

    I buy used, cleaned CPUs off ebay for around $100 and use them until they croak. This one has lasted about 3 years so I’d say I got my money’s worth. I’ll probably download everything to a cloud drive and buy another cheap computer. It’s easier than fighting with it.

    Reply

  4. Hira Animfefte
    Jun 16, 2012 @ 17:28:09

    My computer has some kind of virus on it. My antivirus software (I used to have Norton, now I’m running Avast) hasn’t found it. I should try running Malwarebytes on it. Really, I need to take it to my computer-expert-buddy down in Florida who could fix it in a jiff, if I could only afford the trip.

    I know it’s a virus because there’s this bar at the bottom of my screen that flashes all. the. time. The flashy part keeps growing. My Florida friend could fix it, I’m sure he could…Argh.

    If I had a flashy bar at the bottom of my screen I would probably put duct tape over it. Duct tape fixes everything.

    Reply

  5. Sparty Girl
    Jun 16, 2012 @ 18:06:56

    I remember that VW! When we were very small we used to love to ride in that small space behind the back seat. I think 2 or 3 of us kids could fit back there. Of course, these days the police would pull the car over…

    Now you can’t even ride in the back of a truck. I’m surprised we all survived our childhoods.

    Reply

  6. YFNB
    Jun 17, 2012 @ 12:38:08

    Spy-bot Search and Destroy always works for me. When I install it I never use the tea-timer, and I never back up. It’s best if you run it in safe-mode. To do that restart your computer and when it starts back up repeatedly press F-8 until the start up menu appears. Select start up in safe-mode, and then run Spy-bot Search and Destroy. If you have a lot stored on your computer it might take awhile for it to finish scanning, that’s normal. Good luck!

    Thanks for the tip!

    Reply

  7. YFNB
    Jun 17, 2012 @ 12:39:16

    You might be able to run malwarebytes in safe-mode before trying spy-bot.

    Reply

  8. DarcsFalcon
    Jun 17, 2012 @ 21:08:16

    I hate that browser crap. If it’s a program that’s jumped on when you downloaded something else, sometimes you can go through your Control Panel ->Programs -> and uninstall the program that’s causing the problem.

    I have a feeling it’s from a photo I downloaded off google. I only get hijacked in wordpress. GAH!

    Reply

  9. June
    Jun 18, 2012 @ 04:45:09

    I can’t answer your question. Sorry.
    I’m here to ask you please may I use your “I can’t wait to get shitfaced” picture in my blog about YET ANOTHER waitress anxiety dream.
    Thank you.

    PS I think I’ll use it and if you don’t want me to, I’ll remove it. Fair enough?

    Sadly, it isn’t mine, so use to your heart’s content. Thanks for asking, though. If I knew who was the original owner, I’d buy the rights to it, but I’ve been using it for 3 or 4 years now and no one’s come forth to claim it.

    Reply

  10. traineemadcatlady
    Jun 18, 2012 @ 06:37:27

    Trendmicro and bitdefender have good realtime scans. Running both catches most things

    I’m writing all these suggestions down and trying all of them!

    Reply

  11. Brad
    Jun 19, 2012 @ 08:07:41

    Usually when you get this error it is because the malware changes the network settings in Internet Explorer to use a proxy server. You can go to: Internet Options – Connections – Lan Settings and uncheck the box that says “Use a proxy server for your LAN.” That should change it back. Good luck.

    I was so hoping this was the issue, but it wasn’t. So much for an easy fix. 😦

    Reply

  12. LS
    Jun 19, 2012 @ 10:02:52

    Bee in car made me think of this:

    http://tinyurl.com/cmousd9

    🙂

    Reply

  13. Dana Hayes McManus
    Jun 19, 2012 @ 23:24:04

    Malwarebytes is an awesome tool and I would recommend Vipre anti-virus (same company as MWB, I think) as your new program… I have it and have never had a problem that couldn’t be fixed right away by myself using those tools, except once, and tech support was outstanding and had it cleared up in a snap!!! Had it for 3 years now, btw…

    I’ll look into it! Thanks!

    Reply

  14. Mary Holbert
    Jun 21, 2012 @ 10:42:30

    Go to Majorgeeks.com & see if they have a fix for that virus. I’ve had to resort to that a couple times.

    I’ll give it a try!

    Reply

  15. Anonymous
    Jun 23, 2012 @ 05:40:01

    Another good tool is stinger.exe from McAfee. It’s for use after you’re infected by a virus or malware. Google Mcafee Stinger and you’ll find it.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

