Sunday Special at the Outlaw

A cinnamon chipotle chicken salad sandwich on cranberry walnut bread served with tomato basil pasta salad.  For dessert, add homemade key lime or strawberry rhubarb pie.

Be sure to tip.

**************

In Duck News…when the hen got off her nest, I had 8 ducklings.  The next day 2 died.  I now have 6 happy, healthy peeps running around, and the other hen is still on her nest.  At night some of the peeps snuggle up with the fake mom and it is the epitome of cuteness to see the little peeps poking out from under the mom ducks.

**************

In Kindle News…I’ve been reading a lot of self published authors.  While some stand out, others need to work on verb agreement, formatting, spelling, and grammar.

Scales of Justice–J. Dane Tyler.  This is an excellent book about a dragon hunter.  I’m not into the fantasy genre, but this book was more of an action/adventure/mystery with a background of fantasy and apocalypse.  I didn’t spend my time correcting grammar or getting lost on verb tenses or wondering where paragraphs began.  I fell into the story and had a hard time finding a place to turn off the Kindle so I could go to sleep.

‘Scuse Me While I Kill this Guy–Leslie Langtry.  This is about a family of hit people.  It is funny, clever and cute.  However, she has a really hard time getting her verbs to agree.  She bounces between past, present and future tenses, sometimes all in one sentence.  I spend a lot of time correcting this in my head.  The formatting sucks.  There aren’t any clearly defined paragraphs, and it’s nearly impossible to tell who is speaking.  This is a bad thing for someone as easily distracted as I am.

I Hope They Serve Beer in Hell–Tucker Max.  How this guy made money AND got a movie deal out of this book is beyond me.  The stories are less funny than disturbing.  Tucker Max is a selfish, puerile, douchebag who thinks his life of misogyny, abuse and irresponsibility is amusing.  Sadly, so do a lot of other people.  He also needs to work on verb tenses.  I managed to read about 6 stories before I wanted the $5 purchase price back.  What a piece of shit.

Graverobbers Wanted (No Experience Necessary)–Jeff Strand.  Apparently, this book was self published many years ago and when e-publishing became available, he just batted it out there with a note to readers to ignore outdated things such as pagers and VCRs.  Hey!  How about doing a quick rewrite to include cell phones and DVDs.  Just a thought.  Overall, it was a slightly humourous book with a completely implausible plot.

Abraham Lincoln: Vampire Hunter–Seth Grahame-Smith.  I don’t think this was self published, but I wanted to give it a one word review.  BORING.

10 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. DarcKnyt
    Jul 16, 2012 @ 14:49:26

    Aw, thanks for the kind words and glowing review! In exchange, I can send you an Advanced Review Copy of my next novel, which will be more of what you’re used to from me. Let me know if you want to be on the list of ARC receivers and when it’s done, I’ll shoot the .mobi file your way. 🙂

    You know I’m always ready for an ARC, but my follow through is abysmal. 😦

    Reply

  2. jeffstrand
    Jul 16, 2012 @ 16:11:08

    Have YOU ever tried to rewrite a suspense novel so that the characters suddenly have cell phones?

    HAHAHAHA! I’ve never tried writing anything longer than 1,000 words because my attention span is…hey look! It’s something shiny!

    Just so you know, I’ve purchased 2 of your other books because the titles are funny.

    Reply

  3. Squiggy's mom
    Jul 16, 2012 @ 20:11:51

    Good, honest reviews, but I don’t understand why an author would be expected to
    rewrite a book simply because time has passed? Imagine Tom Joad with a cellphone. Or Scarlett texting Rhett, lol. Perhaps you’re only referring to e-books?

    Point taken. If the author hadn’t noted it in the beginning, it wouldn’t have nagged me throughout the book. Remember, I’m easily distracted.

    What is the fake mama? Maybe this latest heatwave is just getting to me, ’cause I’m feeling slightly ignorant……….

    Two hens…one is the hatch mother, one is the wannabe mother. The heat is killing me.

    Reply

    • Squiggy's mom
      Jul 18, 2012 @ 00:43:19

      Ohhhhh……you’d think I would know that, since I come from a long line of farmers – duh! You know – by some kind of osmosis.
      This heat is getting to me too, I love the a/c, but having the house closed up day after day starts to get to me after a while. We’re getting a one day reprieve. Right now the windows and front door are open, and I have blessed rain!

      I, too, am easily distracted. ;o)

      We’ve had a couple days of rain and it’s so awesome. It’s a hot one again today though.

      Reply

  4. Sparty Girl
    Jul 16, 2012 @ 21:02:52

    If the heat is bothering you, consider a trip to cool, green, Michigan where you can cook for me like you do at the Outlaw… Rats! Never mind. It’s going to be 100 degrees tomorrow and the lawns are all burned brown.

    Thanks for the book reviews.

    It has rained the last two days and cooled off a little. It’s a scorcher again today. What is this “green” you speak of? I understand “brown”, but “green” is foreign.

    Reply

  5. skippymom
    Jul 16, 2012 @ 22:58:03

    Thanks for the reviews – not only informative but funny. giggle Better than the books I am sure. 🙂

    I took your lovely sweater on vacation because Pooldad loves when I wear it as much I love it – and do you know it actually got cool enough one evening to wear it out on a walk through the woods? I REALLY can’t wait for football season to get here so I can show it off at all my kids’ football games. School colors y’know! Thank you so much again. 🙂

    I’m glad you like it! It’s such a coincidence that I picked your school colours. Great minds think alike, I guess.

    Reply

  6. Rebecca
    Jul 17, 2012 @ 06:00:14

    Thanks for the Duck-pdate! (that sounded better in my head)

    Don’t most things sound better in our heads? 😉

    Reply

  7. talesfromthegroceryline
    Jul 17, 2012 @ 09:04:41

    Yum on the lunch!
    Can’t wait to see/read more on the ducks!

    Reply

  8. Ahmnodt Heare
    Jul 17, 2012 @ 13:24:26

    Coming soon (If I have the time to write it): “Ahmnodt Heare – An Unauthorized Autobiography”.

    Unauthorized autobiographies are the best. That’s when the truth really comes out.

    Reply

  9. DarcsFalcon
    Jul 17, 2012 @ 22:48:15

    Ooh, that chicken salad sandwich on the cranberry walnut bread sounds absolutely wonderful! I’ll have that and a piece of the strawberry rhubarb, please. Of course I’ll tip. 🙂

    Thanks for the reviews – it’s always interesting to note what’s out there and other people’s perspectives on them.

    And especial thanks for the nice review on Darc’s book. 🙂

    This self published author thing is fun. I like seeing what else is out there, rather than just the authors big publishers give us. And I like seeing the little guy succeed.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

