I’ve Fallen Back to Earth

Shame on me for being gone so long.  I checked the email connected to this account and saw a whole lot of messages from people wondering what’s up.  Thank you for thinking of me.

My friend Michele was here from New York for two and a half months.  I give blogging a rest during that time so we can spend time together.  We went to the BBQ and Blue Grass Festival, visited Old Trail Town in Cody, ate so much sushi I’m surprised I don’t have mercury poisoning, grew a pumpkin patch (that the deer ate), and argued a lot.  What can you expect from two bossy women going through menopause? 

After she left I spent some time thinking about this blog.  I didn’t know if I wanted to go in a different direction because I spend more time cooking than waiting tables, and my interaction with idiots is limited.  But then, I looked at my co-workers and realized they are always worth writing about (not than any of you would believe the stories because these people are freeze dried wackaloons).  Then there are my neighbours who are the biggest mess of redneck inbreeding I’ve ever seen.  It seems as if I don’t have to look for crazy, crazy always finds me, so the blog will continue in the same vein.

While away I did manage to finish some projects: 

  • My mini-garden was nice.  The tomatoes and peppers were very sweet and tasty, but the flowers and herbs baked in the heat.  Next year I’ll give them more shade.
  • I built new steps for the front of my deck.  While I like having booby-traps around my property, I don’t like a lawsuit when some religious goon falls down my steps.
  • I fenced my front yard.  Now all my yard is fenced.  More or less.
  • I built an enclosure for my wood pile.  No more snowy wood or wood frozen to the ground. 

And I wasted some time:

  • I watched all 3 seasons of ‘Justified’.  I love me some Raylan Givens, but I love Boyd Crowder more.  “Fire in the hole!”
  • I watched both seasons of ‘The Killing’ and cried when I learned who killed Rosie Larsen.
  • I’m currently addicted to Sons of Anarchy, but I think they should call it ‘The Deadwood Reunion’.  I swear the majority of the ‘Deadwood’ cast landed on that show. 
  • I crocheted 5 bubble totes (pictures coming soon) and a really awesome shawl.
  • I discovered Pinterest.  Talk about a time suck.

Again, thanks for thinking of me.  I think about you all more than you know.

14 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Squiggy's Mom
    Nov 03, 2012 @ 00:19:38

    Glad to see you back!

    Glad to be back!

    Reply

  2. maryisidra
    Nov 03, 2012 @ 02:30:00

    I was wondering where you had gone..Missed your posts.Looking forward to your stories from the front line.

    You have no idea what’s in store. These are the craziest fuckers I’ve ever worked with.

    Reply

  3. Becki
    Nov 03, 2012 @ 02:52:34

    Good to see you again,my garden was a bust,due to a bad hip and Lupus, I had to put it and the yard on hold for now, I do miss being out there.Can’t wait to see what the wackaloons do next.lol

    Sorry to hear about your health. Gardens and yards are wonderful, but so damn much work. It was much easier when I let the grasshoppers have everything.

    Reply

  4. wigsf
    Nov 03, 2012 @ 09:30:12

    Great. Make me feel bad for not emailing you.

    I got yours telepathically.

    Reply

  5. DarcKnyt
    Nov 03, 2012 @ 09:53:29

    Welcome back to the blogosphere. It’s missed you, but not much has changed. 🙂

    No matter where you go it’s SSDD.

    Reply

  6. Unknowndazed
    Nov 03, 2012 @ 14:53:11

    Welcome back .. I’ve never commented here before but have read all your posts .. Was turned on to your blog from FMT .. I’m one of the lurkers I guess lol .. And yes Sons of Anarchy is an awesome show .. And this season is keeping me on the edge of my seat .. Anyways glad your back

    I’m in the middle of the 4th season. I didn’t think I would like it because I have an issue with bikers. SoA hasn’t changed my attitude, but it has made me a little more respectful.

    Reply

    • Unknowndazed
      Nov 04, 2012 @ 14:17:12

      Not all bikers are assholes lol .. Some of us can be pretty cool people .. Just have to get past the image that most bikers have .. Yeah season 4 was good season 5 is kicking ass and taking names .. I’m not gonna spoil it for you 🙂 .. Glad your back and glad the redneck neighbors finally got the hint lol

      My experience with bikers is as a server, in a tourist town, on the road to Sturgis. Before Sturgis, we would be overwhelmed with bikers with cocky, demanding attitudes leaving 10 to 15% tips. After Sturgis, we would be overwhelmed with smelly, disheveled, hungover, broke, and pissed off bikers leaving 0 to 1% tips, providing they didn’t hog and jog. Trust me, this leaves a lasting impression.

      A MC has made the Cowboy its home away from home. They have monthly meetings and lunch in the back room. They are all very polite and good tippers. Their Harleys aren’t ear splitting, and I look forward to seeing them each month.

      Reply

  7. Zombieman
    Nov 03, 2012 @ 16:00:57

    Yes! I’ve missed you so!

    Reply

  8. Jim
    Nov 03, 2012 @ 17:23:58

    I’m glad your still around, I’ve really missed hearing about your daily grind, especially in that shoot-from-the-hip way you have of putting your thoughts. And now I’m showing my age, but full sentences with proper punctation is so lacking in much of the on-line reading nowadays. I hope your friend Michele didn’t get back to New York just in time to experience Sandy.

    She got back to NYC about 2 weeks before Sandy, but she says she is okay. I keep telling her she needs to move here full time, but she hates the below zero temps.

    Reply

  9. Dana
    Nov 04, 2012 @ 09:32:15

    Hooray! You’re back!

    Reply

  10. Sparty Girl
    Nov 04, 2012 @ 12:06:26

    Yay! I read your blog when I’m supposed to be grading papers or something else useful and productive. I can’t wait to hear the latest stories.

    I’m glad I can provide you with an excuse to screw off. 🙂

    Reply

  11. krissjudd
    Nov 04, 2012 @ 14:46:44

    I’m so glad you’re back!!! I’ve been checking in once a week and despairing of ever seeing a post again. My faith is restored!! Woohoo!!

    Winter is here so I have much more time for indoor activities.

    Reply

  12. DarcsFalcon
    Nov 09, 2012 @ 01:40:36

    Good to see you back here! I would have worried about you big time if I hadn’t seen you posting over on Pinterest. 🙂 Yes, a time suck! LOL I try to treat it as a reward thing now, for when I’m good and get the housework done. 😉

    I’ve learned a lot of things on Pinterest…but I’ve wasted more time.

    Reply

  13. SkippyMom
    Jan 24, 2013 @ 04:04:52

    How much will I owe you if you see the words “freeze dried wackaloons” on my blog? Please don’t make it too cost prohibitive tho’ I am willing to pay, because that is a phrase that just begs to be SHARED. Oh and thanks – it’s been quite a while since I got soda up my nose. Yeesh. ::wink::

    “Freeze dried wackaloons” isn’t mine. Use to your heart’s content at no cost.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

