Bountiful Baskets

I don’t bother with the produce aisle at the supermarket because our produce is crap and expensive.  A friend told me about Bountiful Baskets and at first I was a little skeptical.  How could they be any good?  For $15 you get a basket of fruit and a basket of vegetables, then you can add extra stuff, such as organic bread, tortillas, honey, granola, and more fruit and veggies.  You don’t get to pick what is in your baskets until you do the add ons, and sometimes there’s weird stuff in the order, but it’s all yummy.

I usually get one basket and an add on or two and split it with my mom.  We have enough fresh produce to last two weeks, which is when the next basket is delivered.  It is so nice to have delicious fruit as a midnight snack or good lettuce, peppers, cucumbers and tomatoes for a salad.

I don’t know if these are available everywhere, but if they are I highly recommend them; bountifulbaskets.org will get you set up.  You won’t be disappointed.

6 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. thelifeofjamie
    Nov 07, 2012 @ 23:34:29

    I have done something similar…I used to get a CSA box and it was always full of organic yummy produce. The only problem we had was they always sent a ton of lettuce and we couldn’t finish it all before it went bad.

    They are pretty generous with lettuce and apples.

    Reply

  2. Squiggy's Mom
    Nov 08, 2012 @ 04:22:15

    Produce is expensive pretty much everywhere these days, but why is your produce crappy ? I was getting tomatoes at a farmer’s market this summer at 3 for $1.00. At the supermarket I’d have to pay a minimum of $1.69 lb! And that’s for those nasty cardboard tasting hydroponic tomatoes. They put up signs that say “grown locally”, like that’s going to improve the flavor. Shit is shit, no matter where it comes from! For tomatoes grown in dirt (if you could find them in the supermarket), the price was much higher. I’ve never heard of bountiful baskets, but it sounds like a good deal.

    Our produce is either not ripe or rotten and is very limited. It’s better in the summer, but it’s ridiculous in the winter. For so long I’ve eaten store bought tomatoes then I grew my own this summer. The difference was unbelievable.

    Reply

  3. Sparty Girl
    Nov 08, 2012 @ 12:06:15

    That looks really great. Unfortunately, they don’t have any in Michigan. Then again, we have decent produce most of the time. I’m glad you’ve got something like this!

    A bag of grapes is much better for me than a bag of cookies.

    Reply

  4. joschaff
    Nov 09, 2012 @ 02:26:02

    I get something similar here in Ireland, though the only extra I can add is a box of eggs. I have become very creative at using up the large amounts of lettuce I get. It goes great in quiche, soup & just pan fried as well as the usual salads.

    Cooked lettuce??! That just seems wrong.

    Reply

  5. DarcsFalcon
    Nov 11, 2012 @ 01:36:29

    Hey, that sounds like a really nice service! Especially in places where it’s so hard to get good quality fresh produce.

    It really is and it forces me to eat fruit & veggies that I normally wouldn’t. Some of the dogs are becoming quite the vegetarians. Halo LOVES tomatoes and lettuce. Otis will eat them if he thinks someone else might. Maggie will eat them, but she has to show her teeth at them first. Sienna acts like I’m trying to poison her.

    Reply

  6. joschaff
    Nov 11, 2012 @ 17:59:03

    I know! Cooked lettuce seems terribly, terribly wrong but once you kind of align it with spinach & chard & other leafy things you cook it actually works. The best recipe I did with cooked lettuce was like an oven baked chicken caesar salad, which I found on epicurious – braised cos or romaine lettuce with breadcrumbed chicken & finely chopped anchovies. It was crazy tasty!

    That sounds good…except for the anchovies. I’ve tried to eat them, but I can’t get past their appearance.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

