Best Movie Lines

How about a contest?  The first one to name the movies that the following 20 quotes are from receives a t-shirt from the restaurant.  Family doesn’t get to play (yes Brandy, I’m talking about you and your encyclopedic knowledge of movie quotes).

1.  “Take me, Garth” 

       “Where?  I’m low on gas and you need a jacket.”

2.  “Zed”s dead, baby.  Zed”s dead.”

3.  “I’m in deep shit; Deep Shit, Arkansas.”

4.  “You pumpkin pie hair cutted freak.”

5.  “That John Denver’s full of shit.”

6.  “He says we’re going the wrong way.”

       “Oh, he’s drunk.  How does he know where we’re going?”

7.  “Your husband ain’t dead, lady.  He’s hiding.”

8.  “Are you not entertained?”

9.  “I wouldn’t live with you if the world were flooded with piss and you lived in a tree.”

10.  “They should’ve sent a poet.”

11.  “I have two guns.  One for each of ya.”

12.  “The shitter was full.”

13.  “The greatest trick the devil ever pulled was convincing the world he didn’t exist.”

14.  “There is a silence where hath been no sound.  There is a silence where no sound may be.  In the cold grave, under the deep deep sea.”

15.  “Who the fuck does she think she is?”

16.  “Do you want to be leader of this gang?”

         “No, we agreed:  No leader.”

         “Right.  So shut up and do as I say.”

17.  “Just breathe.”

18.  “This town needs an enema.”

19.  “We were selling rich women their own fat asses back to them.”

20.  What makes you think she’s a witch?”

           “Well, she turned me into a newt.”

            “A newt?”

            “I got better.”

            “Burn her anyway!”

10 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. whatigotsofar
    Jan 28, 2010 @ 05:07:34

    13. The Suspects Usual

    18. Batman

    19. Fight Club

    That’s it?! I figured you would be the one who got the most right. What a sad state of affairs.

    Reply

    • Bob
      Jan 28, 2010 @ 06:22:01

      You didn’t get #1? I felt that was an easy one. Sad thing, others sound familiar but I don’t have any other answers:

      1 – Wayne’s World 2

      Correct and it was an easy one. With the exception of maybe 3 quotes, these are all from very mainstream movies. The one thing they have in common is they put a smile on my face.

      Reply

      • whatigotsofar
        Jan 29, 2010 @ 06:48:37

        I should be applauded for not remembering Waynes World 2. That movie is proof as to why sequels should be outlawed.

        That’s true. There are only two lines I remember from that movie and both are between Garth & Honey Horney. I’ve wiped my memory of the rest.

        Reply

    • whatigotsofar
      Jan 29, 2010 @ 06:49:37

      I’ve had better days. Sorry to disappoint you.

      😉

      Reply

  2. Sherri
    Jan 28, 2010 @ 07:57:03

    Some of these sound SO FAMILIAR! Are we supposed to google them? Here’s my best guesses without looking. I’m only sure about a couple.

    1. Wayne’s World 2
    8. Interview with a vampire
    16. Maybe…Tropic Thunder?
    17. Everafter
    18. Batman
    19. Fight Club
    20. Monty Python’s Search for the Holy Grail

    Numbers 8 & 16 are incorrect. So far you have the most correct answers at 5.

    Reply

  3. DarcsFalcon
    Jan 28, 2010 @ 12:50:16

    Oh I sooooo suck at this kind of thing! I’m terrible at remembering lines from movies and shows. Heck, half the time I can’t even remember if I’ve even seen the show. All the time I do that to Darc. “Did we see that one? It seems familiar.” “Uh, yeah, we watched it last weekend.” Such is my movie memory.

    11. I might know … Tombstone? Doc Holliday? I’ve seen that movie like 6 times in the last 6 months so I hope some of it is sticking now! LOL

    HAHA! Yes, you are correct. I’m not very good with quotes either unless they are from a movie I’ve seen frequently, or Pulp Fiction. I don’t know why, but I can quote that movie like nobody’s business.

    Reply

  4. Brandy
    Jan 28, 2010 @ 23:55:25

    1.Waynes World 2
    2. Pulp Fiction
    3. Thelma & Louise
    4. Dumb and Dumber
    5. Dumb and Dumber
    6. Planes, Trains and Automobiles
    7. The Ref
    8. Gladiator
    9. Parenthood
    10. Contact
    11. Tombstone
    12. Christmas Vacation
    13. The Usual Suspects
    14. The Piano
    15. Election
    16. Time Bandits
    17. Ever After
    18. Batman
    19. Fight Club
    20. Monty Python and the Holy Grail

    It’s pathetic that I don’t know them all :\

    It is pathetic especially after I bragged about your knowledge. You still can’t win.

    Reply

  5. Bob
    Jan 29, 2010 @ 07:27:28

    Damn, I had no idea the contest ended already I was thinking about trying to find some more. I guess I will go over to WIGSF’s and try my luck.

    After my daughter posted her answers it seemed like a moot point. She’s nothing but a walking movie quote encyclopedia.

    Reply

Leave a comment